Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Timing actions: Burning Muse points and restoring Arete/Hubris

Started by John Harper, April 21, 2006, 05:27:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

John Harper

This is a question of action sequence. I don't think the rules specify anything here, so I'll throw it out for general discussion.

Let's say my Archon gets womped by an enemy and my Arete is reduced to zero -- I'll die unless I sacrifice a Muse to restore my Arete to its permanent rating. Which of course I will do. Now, here's the question:

Before I sacrifice the Muse, I burn off all but 1 point of it and use those points as normal. Then I sacrifice the now 1-point Muse and restore my Arete. Is this legal?

When does burning a Muse fall in the order of actions in relation to sacrificing a Muse to live?
Agon: An ancient Greek RPG. Prove the glory of your name!


In the game that Matt runs on Skype, we're encouraged to keep a few low-value muses around for burning this way.

Personally, I just try to keep out of situations where I'm going to lose Arete/Hubris
"In our game the other night, Joshua's character came in as an improvised thing, but he was crap so he only contributed a d4!"
                                     --Vincent Baker