Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Started by boredoom, September 12, 2006, 07:36:01 PM
Quote from: Matt Snyder on September 12, 2006, 08:14:28 PMThe lower power option leads to a strange effect in actual play that tends to happen. One player makes a nigh-useless Talisman that keeps losing conflicts. Other players, then, shy away from Talismans, thinking they aren't worth the effort. The problem is that players don't realize how astoundingly powerful they can become over time (or, possibly, as a player saves and saves a ton of Pride).
Quote from: Matt Snyder on September 12, 2006, 08:14:28 PMOutside of the excellent number crunching here, think of what that Talisman represents in the fiction! The numbers can really color what form the Talisman takes. Maybe that 14 Power, 0 Urge thing is something primordial -- I don't know, maybe a vial of Titan's blood. Maybe an actual "dead" Titan or beast. Cool. Contrariwise, a Power 6, Chaos 6 Talisman sounds to me like a weapon. Something destructive, anyway.
Quote from: Matt Snyder on September 12, 2006, 08:14:28 PMInteresting aside -- can you make a wimpy talisman your OWN opponent, thus upping your Points chances? The rules as written do not disallow this, but I never considered it until just now. Just think! A Stormbringer-like Talisman that you're actually wrestling against! They only caveat I'd insert is that at least one other opponent must be involved. Just 'cause I say so, darn it.
Quote from: Iskander on September 13, 2006, 11:58:04 PMWaaaaaah! Stop helping Peter! ::prepares to bust out Herakles::
Quote from: Iskander on September 13, 2006, 11:58:04 PMOK, now that's over, Peter did you take into account the effects of having the Talisman suck the life out of your deck? I'm way too tired to do the math, but I suspect you expose yourself to situations where your Talisman has the strong cards in the Urge you want to use.
Quote from: Iskander on September 13, 2006, 11:58:04 PMNot to diminish the delicious gaminess of the conversation, but as Matt said, you should be prepared to colour your choices when you come to spend them. What do they represent for the Heli (if that's what you use them for)?