*
*
Home
Help
Login
Register
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
December 01, 2021, 02:20:08 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Search:     Advanced search
275647 Posts in 27717 Topics by 4285 Members Latest Member: - Jason DAngelo Most online today: 91 - most online ever: 565 (October 17, 2020, 02:08:06 PM)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: [Afraid] First Aid Conflicts  (Read 2895 times)
Ludanto
Member

Posts: 67


WWW
« on: November 09, 2006, 06:39:28 AM »

Hey, I've just encountered a First Aid Conflict.  The problem is, the first aid provider is an NPC.  So I figure there are two ways I can go with this.  I can have the injured PC use the NPC as an improvised thing (well, in this case, a relationship) and have him provide first aid to himself, or I can just use the NPC's stats and have her fight out the conflict.

The first option is seriously limiting, and doesn't take into account things like the fact that she's a nurse (well, I could make her "excellent", but his relationship would override that anyway).  The second option is me playing with myself, which nobody wants to see. :P

Any suggestions?
Logged

Circumstances: [Lost] [Unprepared]
lumpley
Administrator
Member
*
Posts: 3453


WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2006, 01:01:13 PM »

Is the NPC first aid provider a named NPC with whom the PC has had conversations and stuff, or an off-the-cuff NPC like "some EMTs arrive"?

-Vincent

Logged
Ludanto
Member

Posts: 67


WWW
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2006, 08:34:28 PM »

It's his wife, statted out and everything, although if she hadn't been there, it would have been paramedics.
Logged

Circumstances: [Lost] [Unprepared]
Ludanto
Member

Posts: 67


WWW
« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2006, 09:30:26 PM »

And while I've got your attention, how do slaves' unwanted gifts work?  Do they have dice?  How are they used?  Could you give me an example?
Logged

Circumstances: [Lost] [Unprepared]
Ludanto
Member

Posts: 67


WWW
« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2006, 11:12:21 AM »

Maybe an example of how a slave's bonds tie into a gift?  Would, or could, a gift fall under Expertise traits?
Logged

Circumstances: [Lost] [Unprepared]
Ludanto
Member

Posts: 67


WWW
« Reply #5 on: November 14, 2006, 02:53:56 PM »

Man, you think you know what's going on until you actually try to play it. :)

Can the monster (or other NPC) get Experience Fallout?

The new escalation rules confuse me.  Can you only "escalate to match" on an Answer?  Can you not escalate to match your opponent's arena on a Challenge?

Is escalating instead of Answering always an option?  Or only in immediate response to an escalating Challenge?  What happens to the opponent's Challenge in that case?  Is it just "lost" like it never happened or is it sort of "answered without dice"?

Thanks again.  Despite the questions, I'm really having fun.
Logged

Circumstances: [Lost] [Unprepared]
lumpley
Administrator
Member
*
Posts: 3453


WWW
« Reply #6 on: November 14, 2006, 05:31:24 PM »

I'm still thinking about first aid.

A slave's gift should explain his bonds. They aren't the same thing, and the gift isn't a trait or anything like that; it's a wholly-fiction thing that gets made into mechanics via your interpretation.

The monster can have experience fallout, sure. Or wait, I don't know about that. Y'know, in these 3 years of playing Dogs, I've never once given an NPC experience fallout. It never even occured to me that I could or might. Huh.

The new escalation rules are exactly the same as Dogs' escalation rules in every way, except one. That one is: when you escalate, if there's a raise outstanding against you, you block or dodge it for no dice. It's exactly the same as it's always been when you give with a raise outstanding against you - the raise goes away; the act of giving (or, now, escalating) resolves the raise to no consequence.

Okay, so a see has two parts, right: what your character does, and the dice you put forward. In the case in question, what your character does is: "I punch him in the nose!" or some other form of "I escalate!", and the dice you put forward are: none, and together that makes the see.

You see?

-Vincent
Logged
Ludanto
Member

Posts: 67


WWW
« Reply #7 on: November 14, 2006, 06:24:15 PM »

Great, thanks!

I'll try to think really hard about gifts, but I'm just not getting it so far.  I think an example of a gift and its bonds would really help me if you have the time.
Logged

Circumstances: [Lost] [Unprepared]
ffilz
Member

Posts: 468


WWW
« Reply #8 on: November 15, 2006, 09:32:24 AM »

In DitV, I've given NPCs experience fallout. In some ways it can be good. In other ways, it can be distracting and lead to "playing the dice, not the town."

Adding or improving relationships is one good use of experience fallout. If you're regularly frustrated that you can't put forward good hard raises, bumping a trait towards d10s can give you some ammo (but it's also going to lead you near that playing the dice clif...).

I'd only deal with experience fallout if the NPC is definitely going to show up again and be important. Perhaps also only take it if you can instantly decide what it is, i.e. it follows easily from the conflict.

Frank
Logged

Frank Filz
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Oxygen design by Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!