*
*
Home
Help
Login
Register
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
December 03, 2021, 04:56:31 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Search:     Advanced search
275647 Posts in 27717 Topics by 4285 Members Latest Member: - Jason DAngelo Most online today: 93 - most online ever: 565 (October 17, 2020, 02:08:06 PM)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: [DiTV] My relationship died. What do I do? And two other questions.  (Read 1742 times)
phargle
Member

Posts: 28


« on: February 27, 2007, 08:37:16 AM »

During a conflict, I took a relationship with someone:  I'll kill you if you mess with me (1d10).  In the course of the adventure, that person died. . . what do I do with that relationship?

A lesser question . . . to change your coat's description is one option during reflection.  Does that mean I have to take that option (and forego the other good choices like more relationship dice) if I want to change my coat's description?

And one more thing.  From a story perspective, I can see why someone would remove things from his character sheet, but the few times we've played the game have shown us that it is always beneficial to have even a 1d4 stat, making it a clear choice when it comes time to get fallout or experience to never erase anything.  How do other people handle this?

Thanks!
Logged
Moreno R.
Member

Posts: 389


« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2007, 11:17:58 AM »

During a conflict, I took a relationship with someone:  I'll kill you if you mess with me (1d10).  In the course of the adventure, that person died. . . what do I do with that relationship?

The relationship dices are not tied to a specific kind of relationship (it's "Julie: 4d6", not "I hate Julie: 4d6"), so in this situation I think that it should be the player's decision: to keep a relationship with a dead person (that could appear as a ghost, as a memory, as a flashback, etc.), or to "let her rest in peace" losing these dices.

Quote
A lesser question . . . to change your coat's description is one option during reflection.  Does that mean I have to take that option (and forego the other good choices like more relationship dice) if I want to change my coat's description?

I don't think so. The fact that fallout can do something doesn't mean that ONLY fallout can do it, if isn't said so in the rules.

But the fact that you chose that change as you "reflection fallout" give it a meaning, a "strength", that it would not have had (story-wise) if you had not "paid" for it.

Logged

Ciao,
Moreno.

(Excuse my errors, English is not my native language. I'm Italian.)
lumpley
Administrator
Member
*
Posts: 3453


WWW
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2007, 01:17:21 PM »

1. Leave it on your sheet. If you wind up (somehow) in conflict with that person again, even though he's dead, or in a conflict where he's at stake, even though he's dead, you get those dice. If you never do, you never do; no biggie.

2. Strictly, yes. The only way you ever get to make changes to what's on your character sheet is by taking fallout.

3. I've seen lots and lots of people lose belongings to fallout. I've seen only one or two ever lose a trait or relationship. It's not important to me at all that the options see equal play; what matters to me is that when losing a trait is the right thing, the option's there for you.

-Vincent
Logged
phargle
Member

Posts: 28


« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2007, 02:24:41 PM »

Thank you again for the answers.  Very clear and very useful.  Thanks!

(Btw, we love your game.  I don't know if I've said that yet.  One of the most fun game systems we've ever used.)
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Oxygen design by Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!