*
*
Home
Help
Login
Register
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
December 07, 2021, 03:39:05 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Search:     Advanced search
275647 Posts in 27717 Topics by 4285 Members Latest Member: - Jason DAngelo Most online today: 73 - most online ever: 565 (October 17, 2020, 02:08:06 PM)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: [DitV] Newbie Question (answer ASP please!)  (Read 1792 times)
BeatGuy83
Guest
« on: May 11, 2007, 06:22:15 PM »

Hey All:

I'm really excited to run my first session of DitV tomorrow. However, I'm having a tough time wrapping my head around how traits and belongings work into the conflict mechanic. I understand that you only roll all dice once, and that after you use stat dice to raise or see, you discard them, never to be used again in that conflict.

But when you incorporate a belonging or trait die into a raise or see, do you discard that die, never to be used again in that conflict? Or are you allowed to using it over and over again?

Thanks for your help!
John
Logged
Moreno R.
Member

Posts: 389


« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2007, 07:12:03 PM »

Hi John!

EVERY die you use in a raise or see is discarded afterwards (with the notable exception of a single die used to "return the blow"), no matter why you rolled it.

After you get a die for a trait, belonging, relationship, stat, help, etc. etc, it become simply "a die". No different, in any way, from every other die you have already rolled in front of you. You don't keep any sort of differentiation between them  (and you can totally get some dice for using a trait in your raise, and don't use ant of them for that raise, but use two different dice instead). traits, belongins, etc. can "give you dice", but are not "represented" by these dices they gave you (it's like having a lot of different ways to get money. Then, you can use that money to pay for what you want, but you don't need to keep the money in your wallet separated in "money from this job" and "money from that other job" in order to spend it.)

If you have other problems with the conflict rules, this nice flowchart was posted a few hours ago.
Logged

Ciao,
Moreno.

(Excuse my errors, English is not my native language. I'm Italian.)
lumpley
Administrator
Member
*
Posts: 3453


WWW
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2007, 06:22:34 AM »

Hey Beatguy, how'd it go?

-Vincent
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Oxygen design by Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!