*
*
Home
Help
Login
Register
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
December 01, 2021, 04:59:22 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Search:     Advanced search
275647 Posts in 27717 Topics by 4285 Members Latest Member: - Jason DAngelo Most online today: 91 - most online ever: 565 (October 17, 2020, 02:08:06 PM)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Unable to Query DB  (Read 4586 times)
Ian O'Rourke
Member

Posts: 273


WWW
« on: May 08, 2001, 07:50:00 AM »

I seem to be getting an 'Unable to Query DB' error message a lot? I assume this is an ongoing thing and it's not just me :smile:

I get three to four clicks around the forums and then the error appears.
Logged

Ian O'Rourke
www.fandomlife.net
The e-zine of SciFi media and Fandom Culture.
Clinton R. Nixon
Member

Posts: 2624


WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2001, 08:40:00 AM »

Really? I haven't gotten one at all. I'll check the database and make sure everything's kosher.

Have other people been getting this?
Logged

Clinton R. Nixon
CRN Games
Ron Edwards
Global Moderator
Member
*
Posts: 16490


WWW
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2001, 08:49:00 AM »

Nope, not me. Very occasionally, the site will hang up as I'm clicking around it, but then I'll hit "stop" and try again and it works fine.

Best,
Ron
Logged
Ian O'Rourke
Member

Posts: 273


WWW
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2001, 10:04:00 AM »

I'd put it down to something at work ( a very complicated network) but it's just done it here at home.

Now the weird thing is, and this could just be perception I suppose, but I'm sure it does it less when I link from the Adept Press site?

Not sure if this could even effect the issue though.

When it does happen I have to fully close my browser, go back the site and start again.

[ This Message was edited by: Ian O'Rourke on 2001-05-08 14:43 ]
Logged

Ian O'Rourke
www.fandomlife.net
The e-zine of SciFi media and Fandom Culture.
Clinton R. Nixon
Member

Posts: 2624


WWW
« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2001, 10:51:00 AM »

The only reason I could think of for an error like that is too many simultaneous connections to the database. However, I have the max # of connections set at 200, so that shouldn't be a problem.

Ian--after you have the problem, it won't work if you just reload? That is odd if it won't.
Logged

Clinton R. Nixon
CRN Games
Ian O'Rourke
Member

Posts: 273


WWW
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2001, 10:54:00 AM »

I can't just refresh/reload, I actually have to close the browser session and come back in. At work I'm using IE 5.5 and Windows 98 and at home I'm using IE 5.5 and Windows ME.

I'd say it was IE 5.5 but I can't be the only one using that (or maybe I am now, but I won't be in the future).

It's a swine, but then testing web based apps is always a complete nightmare.
Logged

Ian O'Rourke
www.fandomlife.net
The e-zine of SciFi media and Fandom Culture.
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Oxygen design by Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!