News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

State of the Union

Started by Jason L Blair, December 17, 2001, 05:00:00 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jason L Blair

Busy busy busy.

Here's the skinny on the current situation of Little Fears:

Little Fears is doing very well. Sales still continue to amaze me. We haven't seen a significant drop in sales since its release in July. This is good.

This is also not so good. The current stock of Little Fears selling out in early 2002 is a very real possibility. If it does, this puts Key 20 in a sticky spot: either reprint the mainbook so our core audience can expand or print a supplement to satisfy our current audience. Without outside cash, we won't be able to do both.

The downside to the former is that our current audience is left hanging. Now, I'm not a designer who feels games should be supplemented on a monthly basis, far from it. But there are supplements I want to release for Little Fears and have been promised to the public.

The major downside to the latter is it puts a big fat topper on our appeal. I mean, if you can't get the mainbook... are you going to buy the supplements? Another downside to printing a supplement is that, historically, supplements sales are a tiny percentage of mainbook sales. Not good. However, Little Fears has an audience that I think deserve the opportunity to buy supplements if they so choose.

So... I'm working on solutions to the problems at hand and am sketching out ideas to get some cashflow into Key 20 so we'll be around come Origins 2003.