News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Games and their styles

Started by Luke Sineath, March 25, 2004, 12:23:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Luke Sineath

I'm new to the Forge.  Hello.

I've been reading the highly interesting articles on GNS, and R. Edward's note on whether a gaming system can influence the style of play.  Has anyone developed a listing of games, categorized by their modes of play?
"By all means, the GM must be ready to act out and exaggerate the personalities of all NPCs.  Even if it means breaking the table everyone is gaming on."  --Curse of Kabis

Eero Tuovinen

Quote from: Luke Sineath
I've been reading the highly interesting articles on GNS, and R. Edward's note on whether a gaming system can influence the style of play.  Has anyone developed a listing of games, categorized by their modes of play?

Welcome to the forums, then.

The short answer: you cannot classify individual games, because people play them differently. You cannot classify even a given session by a given group, because there are likely many different reasons for decisions people make. You can classify only a single decision, and even that is impossible, because to do that you'd have to know what the player was thinking while making the decision.

It's not all that bleak, though. In practice you can observe a concrete game for a time and see which creative agenda is the most common with that group playing that game. To do that you have to interpret correctly why someone makes some decision, but oftentimes it's relatively clear. We say that a group plays a game f.ex. narratively when narrativist decisions are the most common ones, and decisions are usually evaluated for conforming with narrativist ideals.