News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

GenCon Business/Tax Questions

Started by Lxndr, April 13, 2004, 10:34:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lxndr

If I go to GenCon as "Alexander Cherry, Sole Proprietor of Twisted Confessions" instead of as "Private Citizen Alexander Cherry", what sorts of things are generally considered deductible?  (Yeah yeah, consult an accountant, etc.)  This is my first year, so I know I don't need to worry about being "not-profitable" for however many years.

Things that I think I can deduct that are gencon-related specifically:

1.  Hotel stay
2.  Airfare
3.  Transportation costs (taxi, etc.)
4.  Any shipping costs incurred
5.  Meals?
6.  Any price spent on the booth (the $100 to Ron, the $60 badge)

Questions:

1.  Am I missing anything?
2.  Is there anything that on my list that I really can't deduct?
3.  What tips or tricks do any of y'all have in regards to this sort of stuff?  I'm planning on paying for everything with my business credit card and then just using the credit card statement.  Should I keep anything else (individual receipts)?
Alexander Cherry, Twisted Confessions Game Design
Maker of many fine story-games!
Moderator of Indie Netgaming

Valamir

I direct you to this article on business expenses in the small business section of the IRS web page.

The IRS web page is surprisingly well organized, and sufficiently "lay" for general use.  As long as you aren't trying anything complicated, most answers can be found there with a little searching.

Keith Senkowski

I spoke with my accountant and he said to keep all my receipts and he will sort them out.  Over the years I have found that generally he can read the tax code better than I can and will find things I didn't when I read the IRS site.

Keith
Conspiracy of Shadows: Revised Edition
Everything about the game, from the mechanics, to the artwork, to the layout just screams creepy, creepy, creepy at me. I love it.