News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Mounted lance charge

Started by bensei, June 02, 2004, 08:16:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bensei

I am new to TROS and would like to hear some experience and hints on the following setup:

Setup: A mounted (destrier) full plate knight with a lance wants to attack a footman with a sword. The footman has a slightly larger combat pool, thus with the bonuses from mounted combat both fighters have about the same number of dice.

1. Should the knight win combat by lengths?
2. What can the knight do in order to win quite safely (not risky)?
3. When comparing charge and non-charge, up to our session yesterday, I thought that charging is quite safe (riding skill on 3), since the footman is dead before he can do anything. However, the footman was agressive, too, won the reflex contest, and hit the horse's legs. Then the lance hit him, and the footman was dead. Fine so far, but the horse had a level 3 wound, a bit more damage, and the knight would probably be dead.
4. When the knight charges, what is the best for the footman to do? (One extreme: Full evade, other extreme: red die, hope to win reflex test can hit before the lance hits (is this correct?).
5. When charging, can a knight do anything in order to protect his horse? (sim. block and strike only works vs. attacks against himself, doesn't it?)
6. Is not charging safer then (even with a lance), since combat dice can be saved for the horse to avoid blows?

What is your experience with mounted knight vs. footman?

Caz

Get of Beasts and Men.  It has some mounted combat rules that might answer your questions I probably shouldn't put up on here.  Though under the jousting rules it's extremely easy to be unhorsed, which seems to have been a rare occurence historically.  (I say proper military saddles give +4 dice to the staying mounted roll).

toli

First, I'd agree about the military saddles.