News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Question about different types of bow

Started by Starshadow, June 08, 2004, 03:13:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Starshadow

We have stats for longbow and the shortbow in the Book, but what about other types, like recurve bows, horseman bows and composite bows?

Are they any different from the stats already there?

Ideas anyone?

Any bowyers here? :)
From the darkness I hear the beating of mighty wings...

Sir Mathodius Black

Im no bow expert but i was under the assumption that short bows were basically the same as those used by horsemen and i think recurve bows are a relatively new invention, but i wouldnt swear by it.  As far as composite bows go, i would guess that they probably have longer range and/or a heavier pull.
"God helps those who helps themselves."

Starshadow

Short bows may or may not be the same type of bow that's called the horseman bow; I do not now, that's why I asked. :)

Concerning the recurve and composite bows, they have both been known since about 2500-2000 BC.

James Buchanan

I assume at some point we'll hear the familiar

"Oh, look for that in The Flower of Battle"

;-)

Until then, make up your own, I guess.

-James

Turin

Had a long discussion on another site about this, but here goes.

The longbow was the bow that evolved probably from bows used by the Welsh in the 12-13th centuries, who in turn probably took the idea from invading Ivanians.  It was a self boe, with some composite charactersitics due to the wood used (sapwood-heartwood).  It was perhaps about 4 feet long at the time of the Welsh, growing to over a mans height in the 15th century (it seems this is pretty well near the time period represented by TROS).

The shortbow is a name used in RPG's and some wargames to describe a self bow of shorter length than the long bow.  It also lumps with this many bows used on horseback.  It is an incorrect terminology to use for both types.