News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

1001 Designs: New Site, Screen Test

Started by Jonathan Walton, June 25, 2004, 06:54:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jonathan Walton

Hey Folks,

So, I've got a new site design for 1001 Designs (and a new effort of mine called "Hundred Flowers") and I'd like some assistance.  It used to be that web designers could test pages in two browsers, IE and NetNav, and be cool.  Not the case anymore, both fortunately (for uses) and unfortunately (for web designers).  There are so many browsers out there now that it's nearly impossible to anticipate everything people might use.

I'm an old school HTML programmer.  I do it by hand in NotePad.  I don't have a fancy program to make stuff universally compatible for me, so I try to keep things simple.  That said, I'm sure I'll need to tweak the site a bit.

So, in addition to thoughts on the design itself (which would be welcomed), if anyone's running a non-mainstream browser (Firefox, Mozilla, whatever), I'd appreciate it if you could take a look at the site and see if anything looks wrong or illegible.

Thanks muchly.

ethan_greer

I'm using Mozilla Firefox 0.8 (a kick-ass browser, incidentally) on Windows XP and can see the site without any problems. Looks good.

I like the Tragicomic, by the way. Alpacas are cool.

Matt Machell

Looks OK in IE 5.0 though 6 on PC. There's a slight glitch in the lineup of the images to the right on Mozilla Firebird and Opera 7 (they don't align with the base of the grey column's text as in IE), but this is a very minor thing and text size is browser dependent anyhow.

-Matt

jrs

Jonathan,