News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Walkers (Working Title)

Started by Demada, August 02, 2004, 07:01:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Demada

Here's a little RPG I thought up. The idea actually came to me when thinking about Amber and an anime called Scrapped Princess at the same time, but Scrapped Princes really hasn't figured in much. This is a very rough draft, and I'm not very experienced with RPG design, but I guess there's no other way to get experienced in RPG design. Here it is:

Walkers is an RPG about problem solvers, trouble shooters, who walk the 'Net fixing glitches, battling viruses and supressing rogues. In the infiverse of the Net, all worlds exist, all settings, and all problems. The only people keeping it together are the Walkers. Think Reboot meets Amber with a healthy dose of anime looks, music, and sensibilities. The fact that it all takes place in a computer permeates the terminology but only provides tone, the various settings, called systems, run the gambit, from fantasy to science fiction.

Terms:

Delete: To completely destroy something. Killing a program merely sends it away, it can return. Deleting a program completely eradicates it.

Glitch: An error within a single system

Hack: To damage or remove things within a system

Meta-: A prefix used to denote something that spans more than one system, or something that is big/expansive

MetaVirus: Technically a virus which attacks several systems, but usually means a rogue Walker

Net: The whole of connected systems

Program(noun): A "living" being within a system

Program(verb): To add or change things within a system

Resident: A program attached to a specific system, the vast majority of
programs are resident.

Rogue: An inhabitant of a system who is trying to damage that system

Ronin: A program that is not attached to a specific system. All Walkers are Ronin, as are MetaViruses and some other powerful programs and rogues.