News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Sticky definitions or recommended reading links, please.

Started by PlotDevice, July 26, 2004, 12:52:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

PlotDevice

Hello all.

I am a 34 year old 21 year experienced gamer and designer of games living in Sydney Australia. I have a couple of degrees in English and work in IT. I first got on to this site today.

I have been reading the various threads in this section for a bit now, and it has taken me some time to not feel completely lost. I am beginning to get an idea of the subject matter and definitions of terms finally.

To aliviate the culture shock, I would like to ask if someone could please put a sticky thread at the top of this one with:

1) Definitions of the terms being used
2) Recommended reading articles links

Thanks for listening, and warm regards,

Evan
Evangelos (Evan) Paliatseas

"Do not meddle in the affairs of Ninjas, for they are subtle and quick to radioactively decapitate."

M. J. Young

Welcome to the Forge, Evan.

I'm surprised that we don't have a sticky on this one, but I see that you're right. Let me point you to the ones that are most useful at this point. I recommend that if you have the time you read these in the order listed, as it will give you the historic perspective as well as the most recent improvements.

Rather than give individual links, I'll just say these are all in the articles section, linked at the top of the page here.

System Does Matter, Ron Edwards, was the introduction to the core concepts of gamism, narrativism, and simulationism, and although the theory has expanded greatly since then it's still the best place to start.