News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Designing new Keywords

Started by Tom B, October 20, 2004, 05:13:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tom B

This is my first post to the Forge, despite lurking for quite awhile.  Be gentle. :)

I am new to HeroQuest.  I've read the rules and I think I have a basic grasp of the mechanics and concepts.  (Magic is still tricksy, though.)

I hope to run HeroQuest in the near future, but it won't be in the Glorantha setting.  I have an ongoing campaign in another setting, and have grown dissatisfied with the mechanics we were using.

This does mean I have to set up a new set of Keywords for the characters that are being translated.  The Homeland Keywords seem fairly straightforward...it's the Occupation and Magic Keywords I'm unsure of.

Not everyone in the setting has magic, so I'm not sure a Magic Keyword would be appropriate.  However, two of the three characters do have magic...one of them has extensive magic.  Should I just include various spells in his Occupation Keyword?  Or just give the two magic using characters Magic Keywords, and provide a compensating Keyword of additional abilities for the non-magic using character?

Are there any guidelines on the web for designing new Keywords?

Any help would be greatly appreciated...

Tom B.

lightcastle

Mike has been making keywords for a non-Gloranthan campaign, so I'm sure he'll have suggestions. I would think that if not everyone has magic, then something else as a 3rd keyword would be appropriate. As for including magic in an occupation keyword, I think I'd avoid that unless the occupation and magic are inextricably intertwined.

For some other advice on how flexible the system is and ways to make different appropriate keywords, try Bruce Ferrie's page http://myweb.tiscali.co.uk/bferrie/resources/index.htm">here.

Tom B