News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Magic keywords conversion for Star Wars game

Started by soviet, December 10, 2004, 04:58:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

soviet

Hi,

I've been busy writing up a conversion for Star Wars into the HeroQuest system, and I've been struggling with the 'third keyword'. In particular, I'm concerned that what I've come up with might be completely unbalanced. I have zero experience of HeroQuest so far so they are mostly just what 'seem right'.

I've found that Jedi characters fit quite nicely into Theism, so I was able to use the three generic force abilities as affinities:

Control
(Burst of Speed, Force Resistance, Heal Quickly, Hibernation Trance, Ignore Pain, Impossible Leap, Lightning Reflexes, Perfect Focus, Suppress Own Emotions, Walk Unseen)

Sense
(Anticipate Danger, Magnify Senses, Read Surface Emotions, Read Surface Thoughts, See Without Sight, Sense Life-forms, Sense Disturbance in the Force, Vision of the Future, Vision of the Past, Vision of the Present)

(Catch Weapon, Cloud Foe's Memory, Deflect Energy Blast, Force Push, Force Suggestion, Heal Others, Lift Object, Send Telepathic Message, Stun Foe, Throw Object)

A jedi gets these 3 affinities at 17 and any 3 feats. They can improvise other feats at -10 and get a flaw called 'Tempted by the Dark Side' at 15.

However, I've been struggling to balance this with similar options for non  Jedi. I came up with the following 'third keywords'

A) A single Bionic affinity (arm, leg, optics, etc) at 5w with 3 feats and a flaw called 'More Machine than Man' at 15. The feats are stuff like 'See in Low-light', 'Powerful Punch', 'Run Quickly' etc. Unknown feats can also be improvised at -10.

B) The character's 'best ability' is at 5w2 (yes I'm using this idea from HeroWars rather than the 20 point thing)

C) Force Sensitive - the same as a Jedi except they cannot learn feats and sometimes involuntarily improvise them