News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Classic versus learning: a computerized RPG system

Started by George the Flea, January 08, 2005, 09:52:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

George the Flea

This may not be an appropriate post to the Forge, since it seems to be mainly focused on pencil and paper RPG design.  However, people here obviously have well considered opinions and long experience with RPG's, and I need any input I can get.

A little background to see where I'm coming from: I'm an avid player of RPG computer games, but have never played a pencil and paper game (intriguing as they are).  I have limited experience with the D&D system, but only through games such as Baldur's Gate and Neverwinter Nights.  As such, I don't really have much breadth in my knowledge of RPG's.

I am currently involved in designing a computer game RPG, and am in the initial planning stages.  My dilemma is that I am unsure what type of character development system I should use, and I have been unable to find any good resources.  As such, any links or suggestions you can make will be much appreciated.

As for specifics: I am debating whether to use a classic experience/leveling system to drive the game (gain X experience for an act, eventually get to the next level, and purchase better abilities/feats/skills/whatever as a result of leveling), or if I should attempt to build a system based on learning algorithms (get better at a skill by practicing it).  I'm leaning toward the latter system, but because it is such a total break with the vast majority of computer RPG systems I have been unable to find any discussion or information that could help me figure out where I'm headed.

Are there any systems that you know of (or discussions about theory/implementation of such a system) like what I've described?

Do you have any thoughts on such a system?