News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

RPG Meta-Model

Started by aliaghan, January 16, 2005, 09:09:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

aliaghan

Greetings,

I was just working on my own rpg system. It's my first so I'm rather new to the subject of rpg design.

I was reading several articles on the net and I found something lacking.

When it comes to actual system development (you have decided why you want this new system, etc, and are ready to create the factual system) there is no real aid out there to setup a system.

Everything is somewhat inspiration based. I've also come across several "structured" articles, but they are still far to specific into examples to be of real structural help.

So I started working on a meta-model. A model that creates a framework for others to model their games in.

I actually came upon 3 real seperate systems, but would like to have your input. Perhaps together we can make something out of this.

I have come upon:
1. Character System
2. Metaphysical system
3. Battle System

Meanings:
1. Character system
 This one describes how a character is setup. THis one addresses the questions one needs to ask to create a character according to the system.   (Even if it lacks any real set rules, there is still a basis to make sure all players are on the same page).

2. Metaphysical system
   THis describes the Magic, Religious, psionical, quantfum-physicial, power-out-of-my-thumb things. Everything that is not physical.

3. Battle System
   All RPGs seem to have some sort of battle-arena, be it diplomacy or open war. THere are rules that describe 'battle'.

I am quite sure I am forgetting more of these "system-components" so I would like to ask your input.

The names of the components are arbitrary, they are not really defined more indicative of what the "branch" represents.

I would welcome ALL input!

Respect!

Kevin

Lathan

A few comments...