News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Japanese-style computer-rpg mechanics? [ot?]

Started by afray, May 12, 2005, 05:18:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

afray

First off, I realise this may be out of your area of expertise, but thought I'd ask anyway.  :-)

I'm a video games developer who's trying to develop a new computer-rpg as a side project.  I haven't played a lot of table-top gaming, but there's a lot of info on western table-top rpgs and their mechanics.  However, this style seems more suited to the attribute/skill style.  

I've played through a couple of japanese computer-rpgs and they have an interesting attribute/natural atribute approach.  Disgaea, for instance, gives you the standard western rpg attributes (hp, sp[mana, special], atk, spo, res, etc.) but also a percentage "natural" rating for each attribute.  When you level up, each stat increases in proportion to their natural ability.  So everyone starts off pretty equal, but their natural ratings make them diverge quickly.  

This is fundamentally different to most table-top games because each stat increases as you level up, eventually ending with a lvl30 warrior character typcially having around 1000hp, 800atk, etc.  

It also means that your initial class choice is pretty much what you're stuck with, and a high-level theif will look like pretty much any other high-level theif.  In Disgaea there's a very powerful system for creating multi-class characters over time, but I'm not really interested in that at the moment.

I'm wondering how this would be applied in combat.  A straight comparison wouldn't seem to work, as in-game a few levels difference can mean 100 points of atk, but you *can* take someone higher than you.  

Does anyone have any experience of combat in this type of system, or know any good web resources?

Thanks for putting up with my OT stylings!

Cheers,
Andy.
--

Andrew Fray

Bankuei

Hi Andy,