News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

What is a Fantasy Heartbreaker?

Started by diadochi, November 26, 2005, 10:53:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

diadochi

Hi,

I'm new to the forge and wonder if someone could explain what a Fantasy Heartbreaker is? I've tried to find out for myself, but am confused. I'm not sure if it is a derogatory label stuck to traditional fantasy RPGs or has a more technical meaning? Please enlighten.....

Dave

Trevis Martin

Hi Dave,

Specifically from the privisional glossery in the articles section.

QuoteFantasy Heartbreaker
A published role-playing game which retains specific aesthetic assumptions from pre-3rd edition versions of Dungeons & Dragons. See Fantasy Heartbreakers and More Fantasy Heartbreakers.

The other thing to read would be the two articles about it.  Fantasy Heartbreakers and More Fantasy Heartbreakers  To see how the term should be used, or at least what is meant by it around here.  It gets bandied about rpg net and sometimes here with alarming frequency and uncertain definition.

best

Trevis

Ron Edwards

Hello,

I invented the term, in those two articles. It is not derogatory.

Best,
Ron

diadochi

Hi Ron,

I've just read your article More Fantasy Heartbreakers, and two questions came to mind. These are honest questions, I'm not meaning to be sarcastic.

I understand the Fantasy bit, but why were the old RPGS "heartbreakers"? They didn't break my heart.

Are you saying people shouldn't try to write any more Fantasy Heartbreakers? My only problem with this is people are by their nature creative, and saying don't create another DnD is like saying don't write any more pop songs or don't start another chain of burger bars.

David

timfire