News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

A Sorcerer Idea

Started by jburneko, June 04, 2001, 01:06:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jburneko

I read the main Sorcerer book last night.  I also read certain key sections of The Sorcerer's Soul.  I then proceeded to send a rather rambly email to Ron on my 'impressions' which turned out to me more of a personal catharsis on how I can't write characters, only characatures and clever plots.  It was late.  So, I'm apologizing to Ron upfront for my sleep induced impulsive action.

Since then I've had time to think about what I'd like to do with Sorcerer and following the suggestions in the books I've come up with a few concepts for what demons are and what Humanity means.  I thought I'd share and get some feedback for while I think my idea is pretty nifty I don't have any actual STORY ideas for it.

First some background on myself.  I have a degree in computer science with a minor in theoretical mathematics.  As a result I enjoy stories that screw with our concepts of technology, mathematics, logic and science.  My favorite movies include Pi and Cube.  I'm facinated by any smooth blending of mathematics and mysticism.  This is where my view of sorcerer has sprung.

One other note: This idea borrows heavily from the mad scientist concept in Deadlands.