News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

DIY Game Designer in Desparate Need of Art

Started by Alexander XVX, January 25, 2006, 09:51:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Alexander XVX

Hello all,

My name is Alexander, and, as you might have rightly guessed, I'm new to the Forge.  Games have always been a strong part of my life, and my love of adventure is easily proven by the fact that I spent the last year hitchhiking around the US, and I have full intention of continuing in the future.  I have currently designed two games, one of which is a tabletop wargame, and the other of which is an RPG.  Since this game is the reason I made this post, I'll describe it a little below.

My game is entitled The BERGS Chronicles (an acronym for Best Ever Role Playing Game System), which, in my less-than-humble opinion, is a far cry from any of the D&D related crap on the market today.  The name is silly, but the system is serious.  Although I have respect for the concept behind GURPS, I think it fails in being a truly universal system because it requires you to buy and own such an enormous amount of game books if you want to play a variety of genres.  The BERGS Chronicles, on the other hand, is designed to incorporate every role playing genre and era imaginable into one- yes, just one!- complete manual.  Players can delve into fantasy, the ancient world, a Norse/Viking campaign, the wild west, Victorian England, an alternative history steampunk world, 1930's film noir, the present day, a bleak post-apocalypse or cyberpunk future, or a futuristic utopian campaign.