News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Why do my best ideas come when I'm busiest?

Started by Andy Kitkowski, April 18, 2002, 07:17:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Andy Kitkowski

This is a topic not on the mechanics/structure etc of a game, but the game design process itself.

I just had a question out there, looking for other people with similar experiences who can possibly relate and offer advice.

So after saying to myself for a few years, "I'm a Game Designer", I've finally begun to SERIOUSLY design a game. Up until now, I've designed other games, but not very seriously. Or I would just think about the games (settings rules, methods of distribution) that I'd like to make in the future, and never write the ideas down.

Here's my two major experiences with game design, and they're like night and day:

1) Approx 2 years ago, I lived in Japan and finished up a full-time work contract. For the next six months, I did IT consulting only, getting a steady income for only teaching a few hours a night, a few nights a week. During this time, I had more free time than I have ever had since, say, high school. I spent about 2-4 hours /a day/ involved in "serious game design", which mostly came down to throwing dice over and over again looking for good Resolution Mechanics (I was also working on a "dice combat" customizeable game).

2) Now, I'm back in the US (been here a year), getting my full-time IT career back on track. Just got a new, busy job 8 weeks ago. Helping my wife find work. Learning like 3 computer languages, as well as pursuing a Masters in Japanese. On top of that, martial arts. Free time per day, were I to get a good 8 hours of sleep a night, is approx 1 hour or less (therefore I usually seek 6 or less hours of sleep). Yet now, more than ever, my mind is coming up with solutions to problems with my game design, ideas for games, and the drive to actually write said ideas down and perhas publish them.