News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

The HQ toolkit for understanding its secrets

Started by Der_Renegat, May 14, 2006, 11:38:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Der_Renegat

HQ Esoterica

Im into HQ since it came out in germany as HeroWars. That was in the year 2000.
Understanding the game is kind of a science. Im still learning to understand its full potential. This board and the Yahoo Group were the most useful sources.

I think its a pity that you still have to collect the advanced basics all on yourself. Maybe a HQ companion would be a good idea.

So i had the idea to make a thread thats a source for all the HQ esoterica.

I begin with a quote from ian hammond:

QuoteOne key difference between RuneQuest and HeroQuest is that HeroQuest is about conflict not task resolution. Only roll when a something is at stake that we care about, not just to accomplish a task. The trick to this is that failure should advance the story as well as success. If failure means no adventure tonight there is no point in rolling. Just have the hero do it. If failure means go left instead of right, then its worth rolling to see how the conflict plays out.

Christian

Der_Renegat

Christian

Der_Renegat

How to select the resistance

Mike Holmes said:

QuoteIn HQ, there are largely three sorts of resistances you can throw at a character:

Relatively Low Resistance - these are good for showing how easily the character can handle the average conflict if they win, or for showing how mortal the character is if he loses.
Relatively Equal Resistance - these are good for high tension, and showing how cool the character is relative to the dangerous world and dangerous people, and how he's willing to risk.