*
*
Home
Help
Login
Register
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 27, 2014, 12:50:09 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Search:     Advanced search
275647 Posts in 27717 Topics by 4283 Members Latest Member: - otto Most online today: 77 - most online ever: 429 (November 03, 2007, 04:35:43 AM)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Hubris - contests into battles  (Read 1161 times)
Darren Hill
Member

Posts: 861


« on: August 17, 2006, 11:02:44 PM »

You can turn a contest into a battle by invoking Hubris. What if the contest is something like, crossing a river. Does the GM then have to create the river (or something proving adversity) as an NPC, to play out the battle?
Or does this rule only apply when you're rolling contests against living or monstrous opponents.
Logged

John Harper
Moderator
Member
*
Posts: 1054

flip you for real


WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2006, 11:51:05 PM »

Personally, I would totally make up the river as an NPC. It's in keeping with the myths and it would be fun as hell.

"The river attacks you with its 'Drag You Under' weapon!"

Awesome.
Logged

Agon: An ancient Greek RPG. Prove the glory of your name!
Darren Hill
Member

Posts: 861


« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2006, 11:59:52 PM »

Yes, I think so too :)
Logged

Darren Hill
Member

Posts: 861


« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2006, 02:51:25 AM »

A related question prompted by the example in the book of the heroes who are trying to sneak into the temple.
One of the Heroes succeeds, the other two fail.
Now, if one of those two doesn't want the embarrassment of failing and invoke's Hubris,
a) does the hero who won have to be involved - he achieved his goal, so are the others rolling to simply join him? If he does get involved and gets defeated, he naturally loses the goal (or does he?). So he's probably very keen to know if he has to take part.
b) Does the other hero also have to take part? Could he accept failure and ignore the Battle?

The overriding question here is: if one hero calls Hubrus, does he automatically involve the other heroes present? That opens up some interesting tactical decisions, if so...
Logged

Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Oxygen design by Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!