*
*
Home
Help
Login
Register
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 24, 2014, 06:10:31 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Search:     Advanced search
275647 Posts in 27717 Topics by 4283 Members Latest Member: - otto Most online today: 62 - most online ever: 429 (November 03, 2007, 04:35:43 AM)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Divine Favor - Multiple Attacks  (Read 1539 times)
Darren Hill
Member

Posts: 861


« on: August 22, 2006, 03:35:10 AM »

When spending the 2 point Divine Favor, Take an Extra Attack, can you do this multiple times within the same exchange?
Logged

John Harper
Moderator
Member
*
Posts: 1054

flip you for real


WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2006, 09:21:40 AM »

Yes.
Logged

Agon: An ancient Greek RPG. Prove the glory of your name!
LordSmerf
Member

Posts: 864


« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2006, 01:57:48 PM »

On a related note: when you take your second attack from this (or if an NPC with multi-attack takes an extra attack) do you get to bring in all the abilities you impaired for your first attack (and any attendant bonuses)?

Say that I'm 'Clever-eyed', and get +2 to Insight and +2 to Cunning.  If I attack, bringing in both of those (impairing them) and roll an extra (say) pair of d8s for them, and also get a +4 to my highest die, and then I spend two divine favor to attack again...  Do I (a) get to roll +2d8 again (and get the attendent +4), or (b) have to bring the abilities in a second time, thus getting +2d6 and +4 and imparing them again.

I thought it was (b), but I seem to remember you saying something that sounded like (a) in a recent AP post...

Thomas
Logged

Current projects: Caper, Trust and Betrayal, The Suburban Crucible
John Harper
Moderator
Member
*
Posts: 1054

flip you for real


WWW
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2006, 02:21:24 PM »

Hey Thomas,

It is in fact 'A'. This one is in the FAQ:

Quote
Q. When I spend 2 Divine Favor to "attack again" (p.70), what happens?

A. Pick up all the dice you just used to attack, and roll them again. If you had bonus dice in your pool from creative abilities, or advantage dice, or anything like that, you get to use them again in the second roll. Yes, this is awesome.
Logged

Agon: An ancient Greek RPG. Prove the glory of your name!
LordSmerf
Member

Posts: 864


« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2006, 08:52:10 PM »

Because it bears repeating: 'Yes, this is awesome!'

Thomas
Logged

Current projects: Caper, Trust and Betrayal, The Suburban Crucible
Darren Hill
Member

Posts: 861


« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2006, 04:53:58 AM »

Another question: if you pay divine favor for a second attack, does it have to be the same sort of attack?
Could you, for instance, open with a Special Manoeuvre like an Intimidation, and then follow up with an attack? Or vice-versa?

Or for that matter, if you have a Sword in one hand and a Javelin in the other, could you attack with the Sword, then pay divine favour and attack with the Javelin (obeying the normaul rules for left-hand attacks)?

I assume if you are allowed to change tactics like this, you don't keep the reroll benefit - it's a new roll, so any traits rolled in via Creative Abilities are probably lost. Is this the case?

Likewise, if a beastie or NPC has Multiple Attacks, can they be with different weapons if the creature has them available and has Natural Weapons (so allowing it to switch freely between them)?
Logged

John Harper
Moderator
Member
*
Posts: 1054

flip you for real


WWW
« Reply #6 on: August 25, 2006, 09:06:57 AM »

Hey Darren,

Yes, all of those things are okay.

About the Sword and Javelin, though: You don't have to spend DF to activate the Left Hand Attack maneuver. You could attack with your right hand, then attack with your left (at -2), then spend DF to attack again (with either weapon), if you wanted.
Logged

Agon: An ancient Greek RPG. Prove the glory of your name!
Darren Hill
Member

Posts: 861


« Reply #7 on: August 25, 2006, 09:35:15 AM »

I realised that you don't have to pay DF for the off-hand. I was referring to the rule that says the dice you use for a left-hand attack can't be used for defence. I was assuming that if you decided to use the javelin for a second attack, that would still be true. Is that the case?
Logged

John Harper
Moderator
Member
*
Posts: 1054

flip you for real


WWW
« Reply #8 on: August 25, 2006, 09:46:57 AM »

Oh, I see. Yes, that's true. If you use your left hand dice for attack, you can't use them for defense, and vice versa.
Logged

Agon: An ancient Greek RPG. Prove the glory of your name!
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Oxygen design by Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!