News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

The Fundamental Mechanic

Started by John Tynes, August 25, 2006, 01:36:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

John Tynes

So I went to GenCon last week for the first time in four years or so. And I found it a really fun experience. I had to work most of the time, but what I saw of the exhibit hall was exciting, fun, and inspiring. This is in dramatic opposition to four years ago, when, as in so many years before, I found it tedious, repetitive, and uninspired.

The big difference? A lot fewer roleplaying games.

This is not my main point, but it's getting there. My main point is something I've been chewing on for a couple of years now, ever since I played My Life With Master. And I happily admit that I am parachuting in here, and if someone can point me to some useful examples of what I'm going to describe, I'll go off and poke at them and stop bothering you.

My overwhelming response to playing My Life With Master was this: Wow, this would have been really fun were it a boardgame.

In short, the game, as do almost all RPGs -- and, really, all RPGs, but I'm hedging my bets in an academic kind of way -- relies on the participants having a reasonably advanced knowledge of narrative. I know there's this notion that by stripping away rules we're getting back to pure narrative, but I also would happily submit that many people have no interest or inclination in creating narrative, especially in an improvisational manner.

So: how do you provide narrative structure to a storytelling game? There's the Once Upon A Time approach, where the structure is the game. And then there's, uh, not a lot that I've seen.