News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

[Sorcerer] Parasites, Possessors and Trolls

Started by Jonas Ferry, August 26, 2006, 11:41:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jonas Ferry

Last weekend I played Sorcerer with three friends. One of them, Björn, I've played with since, oh, 1994 or so. Through Björn's student dormitory I met Tobias and I guess I started playing with him in 1999. The last guy was Johan who I got to know in 2000, me and him studying similar programs and doing new-student activities together. He had roleplayed some fantasy game before once that he couldn't name, but hadn't really roleplayed, so I saw it as a chance to introduce him to it.

I wrote a bit about my pregame thoughts in Prep, Swedish 19th century folklore in the Adept Press forum, but in short the game would be about a small community in Sweden some time during the 19th century. I had emailed the three of them three setting ideas, not situations really, but mostly a time-period and some color. They decided the historical game sounded fun, so that was what I prepared, but I didn't decide an actual situation until after character creation.

Ok, that's not entirely true. I had the film Laura (1944) in the back of my head, and if someone created a woman NPC I would use the main character and the boyfriend from that film as inspirations. Also, since I decided that Humanity was "Sense of Community", I thought that some kind of break of that sense would be interesting and that the situation should reflect that. I read the Wikipedia article on the sense of community and the four elements gave me ideas what could constitute a Humanity gain or check.

Character creation