News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Dropping conflicts

Started by kalyptein, November 06, 2006, 01:07:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kalyptein

Hi, I'm a total Capes newbie looking forward to running/playing for the first time soon.  I have a couple questions about conflicts:

1) Can the player who resolves a conflict can do so in a way different that his prior narration has been going.

Say Alice and Bob are playing Spiderman and Dr Doom with the conflict "Spiderman battles Doctor Doom".  They are rolling on opposite sides and narrating their character pummeling the enemy.  Bob eventually wins the conflict, but he decides at the last moment, actually he wants to narrate Spiderman winning.  Can he do that, even though its essentially conceding the conflict to his opponent (naturally Bob still gets narration rights).  I think the answer is yes, but I wanted to check.

2) Is there any way to take a conflict off the table without resolving it?  Say the players feel the climactic moment has passed and this conflict is no longer interesting.  Or maybe events have occured that make the conflict no longer make sense (maybe it concerns a character who is now dead, etc).  I don't remember seeing anything in the rules that would allow it.  How would something like this be handled?

Alex

Hans

I'm certainly not authoratative, but I am just arrogant enough to reply anyway.

Quote from: kalyptein on November 06, 2006, 01:07:13 PM
1) Can the player who resolves a conflict can do so in a way different that his prior narration has been going.