News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

nicotine girls

Started by Paul Czege, May 20, 2002, 05:58:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Paul Czege

Hey everyone,

So...despite my history of pronouncements that I'm not a game designer, and that http://www.123.net/~czege/WFD.html">The World, the Flesh, and the Devil was an anomaly, I seem to have designed another game. I consider it to be more vanilla than The World, the Flesh, and the Devil, but potentially of less general interest...if that's actually possible:

http://www.123.net/~czege/nicotinegirls.html">Nicotine Girls

What do you think? I'd like to call it an Attribute + Skill system. Do you think it qualifies?

Paul

p.s. The text is pretty raw as of yet, and fails to include examples of character creation, examples of gameplay, and credit to Mike Holmes for calculating a bunch of probabilities that helped me make decisions about the dice mechanics and target numbers. That stuff is all forthcoming.
My Life with Master knows codependence.
And if you're doing anything with your Acts of Evil ashcan license, of course I'm curious and would love to hear about your plans

Henry Fitch

That's really cool. I'm not sure I can imagine anyone playing it, but it's definitely cool.
formerly known as Winged Coyote

Walt Freitag

I don't think you can call the Methods "skills" because all characters in the system have the same ones, differing only in degree, making them more like attributes. The same for the Motivations. But it's similar enough to an Attribute + Skill system that if you want to call it that, why not?

I like the Fears list. It appears to be derived from lists that crop up in research studies (and magazine articles) about stress. (If not, then you've managed to come up with a list that conforms amazingly to current thinking in psychology.)