News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Possession - 9/10ths of the law?

Started by A.Neill, May 22, 2002, 04:03:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

A.Neill

ETA to my first Sorcerer game, 2-3 Weeks.

One of my players (Cathy) has come up with a possessor Demon that sporadically takes control of her character.

Alexandra's demon (Alix) is the counter to her inhibited and repressed self. Alix is assertive, with a need for sadistic sexual encounters and a desire for knowledge.

Demons are the sole jurisdiction of the GM – right? But if Alix makes regular appearances (and I want her to), Cathy's participation is a bit constrained.

Maybe if Cathy has free reign over scene framing and setting up bangs (**ahem**) she'll feel involved but I'm still uncomfortable with, what Mike Holmes might call, the "de-protagonizing" of the character.

Any ideas for a workaround?

Alan.

Joe Murphy (Broin)

I'm no expert on Sorceror, but how's this?

You could let Cathy play both Sorceror and Demon. If you feel Cathy will enjoy screwing over her own character for the sake of good characterisation (and let's hope so), then more power to her elbow. Her fun is her responsibility, as well as her right.

If she just wants to use the demon as an 'excuse' to cut loose with no Humanity checks, then you can absolutely hose Alexandra with problems resulting from her 'dark side'. Push Alix' Needs constantly, and make sure the Needs are difficult.

As far as I know, the mini-supplements Urge and Schism both deal with 'enemy within' demons, so I'm guessing this is a fairly usual thing to want to do with Sorceror.

Best,

Joe.

Ron Edwards

Hi Alan,

Love this thread title.

Let's see if I have this straight: Cathy is the player, Alexandra is the character, and Alix is the demon, right?

It sounds a great deal like some of the examples in Chapter 2 of The Sorcerer's Soul. I'll try to summarize some of the points from there.