News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

QUINCY: Emergent Game/Sim

Started by Aaron Blain, January 04, 2007, 07:01:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Aaron Blain

Synopsis: I want to approach gamish sim through with a nar-ish sim procedure, using a very simple ruleset that utilizes the players' conception of "tactics" instead of attempting an exhaustive encyclopedia. Very simple karmic task resolution (always 1-5) is modified through resources and circumstances, and negotiated conflict resolution is used to create new circumstances. As a cohesive shared vision of the source material, "tactics" gradually emerges through the setting of conflict-resolution precedents, a reasonable expectation of consistency enables the players to "play several moves ahead". Any takers?

I have a draft, but I imagine it is more helpful to introduce and explain my concept and my needs.

I've been gaming for about five years, often two games a week. I have played a great deal of 2nd and 3rd edition DnD as well as some World of Darkness. But the only game I ever looked forward to playing was 1st edition L5R. This was back when the game rules were still mercilessly lethal. One good hit from a katana left you with just enough life to try and escape. Now, I'm not harping on "realism" here, but a one-hit-kill paradigm radically changes the combat dynamic. It's like the difference between Contra and DOOM, and that's the kind of excitement, challenge and danger I prefer. A DnD character never says, "I can't go out there! I might get shot!" I was the Crane, handome and educated, the "face" and tactician of the party, and the swiftest swordsman. The Crab, exceedingly stout, was the anvil, and I was the hammer. "Hm, could be archers on the roof, better stay on the left side of the street or I could be a dead sucker." That is the joyful feeling I want to isolate and magnify.