*
*
Home
Help
Login
Register
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
August 15, 2022, 08:19:27 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Search:     Advanced search
275647 Posts in 27717 Topics by 4285 Members Latest Member: - Jason DAngelo Most online today: 87 - most online ever: 565 (October 17, 2020, 02:08:06 PM)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Action-Reaction Unit?  (Read 5459 times)
Ludanto
Member

Posts: 67


WWW
« on: March 16, 2007, 07:54:12 PM »

Hey, maybe I'm just dense, but I totally don't get this.

Apparently, Tony says that you can't stake/split between your Action and your Reaction, that they are a whole unit and staking/splitting can only happen before the Action or after the Reaction. http://www.indie-rpgs.com/forum/index.php?topic=19894.0

Having looked at the rules on page 25, I totally don't see it.  As a matter of fact, it would seem that the opposite is true.

The last paragraph actually says that that you can't stake/split during a reaction, and that you can only stake/split immediately before or after your action.

I mean, if Tony says it's so, then it's so, but I'm sure that it will come up if I introduce this game to friends, and they're going to want to see the rules.

Any insight on this?  Is there any reason why the rules are better this way?
Logged

Circumstances: [Lost] [Unprepared]
Ludanto
Member

Posts: 67


WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2007, 07:55:29 PM »

Bah!  Stupid post-a-majig!  One of these has got to go.  Sorry.
Logged

Circumstances: [Lost] [Unprepared]
Stefan / 1of3
Member

Posts: 88


« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2007, 10:27:43 AM »

The problem I see is that during a reaction only the die can be rolled that was used during the action. If I could split the '5' I rolled during my action, the option to react would be quite worthless for my opponents.
Logged
Ludanto
Member

Posts: 67


WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2007, 03:29:06 PM »

I'm not sure if that makes any difference.  The questions isn't whether or not I can split before the other players can react, but whether or not I can split before I react.
Logged

Circumstances: [Lost] [Unprepared]
Ludanto
Member

Posts: 67


WWW
« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2007, 03:36:27 PM »

Sorry, just now thought of this...

I was thinking that it was: Stake/Split > Action > Reaction > Stake/Split > Other Players' Reactions

But maybe it should be: Stake/Split > Action > Reaction > Other Players' Reactions > Stake/Split

Is the latter more correct?
Logged

Circumstances: [Lost] [Unprepared]
TonyLB
Moderator
Member
*
Posts: 3702


WWW
« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2007, 05:00:30 AM »

The latter is, indeed, more correct.
Logged

Just published: Capes
New Project:  Misery Bubblegum
Ludanto
Member

Posts: 67


WWW
« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2007, 07:44:43 AM »

Thanks!

Great game, but gawd-awful difficult to puzzle out from the text sometimes Smiley
Logged

Circumstances: [Lost] [Unprepared]
TonyLB
Moderator
Member
*
Posts: 3702


WWW
« Reply #7 on: March 20, 2007, 04:11:12 AM »

Yeah ... sorry 'bout that.  Still honing my skills as a designer and writer, I'm afraid.  Probably always will be.
Logged

Just published: Capes
New Project:  Misery Bubblegum
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Oxygen design by Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!