News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Seeking advice on organizing my first playtest

Started by phasmaphobic, May 24, 2007, 03:22:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

phasmaphobic

Hey folks, I'm looking to put together my first official playtest of a game our company is developing.  We have a few people signed up and ready to go, that part wasn't hard at all.

I come to you because, well, I've never done this before.  I've run games, many games, but never a prototype game and never for the purposes of exploring the limits of the rules as much as possible.

What methods, techniques, and advice on session flow and administrivia would you folks suggest for a first-timer?

FYI, the game is a tabletop RPG, light on the crunch, definitely designed from a narrativist perspective, and intended to be "universal" in genre implementation.

Thanks!
- Nathanael Phillip Cole (NPC) -
Director of the Streetwise LARP

GreatWolf

I've been playtesting Dirty Secrets of late, and these are some of the things that I've learned along the way.

• Take lots of notes on everything, especially the stuff that seems to break.

• As far as possible, don't try to fix rules issues on the spot.  Just write down what went wrong and move on.

• Be aware of the roleplaying techniques that make your game work.  You and your players bring assumptions to the table of how this roleplaying thing works.  Make sure that you realize what they are.  You may need to communicate some of them in your game text.

• Be sure that you understand the desired effect of your rules.  In playtesting Dirty Secrets in-house (in other words, with my wife and sister), I found myself saying, "I know that the answer that I want is such-and-such, but the game doesn't actually do that."