News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

PTA Convention Games

Started by scottdunphy, September 03, 2007, 11:46:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

scottdunphy

I was introduced to "Primetime Adventures" at Compleat Games in Colorado Springs. They host an Indie RPG Night on the first Sunday of every month. I'd heard of the game through the Sons of Kryos so I was eager to play. J-M, the store's manager, was the producer and he did a fantastic job. It was a three-hour game and in that time we went from a blank whiteboard to playing through the pilot. I immediately bought the game.

I primarily write and GM character-provided events at local conventions in Denver, CO. I've been doing this for 6+ years and I'm part of local organization that is dedicated to writing and running these type of events at conventions. Our goals are to encourage great roleplaying through our events. While PTA is quite a bit different in execution than most of the games we run, it has many of the same goals and fits well into a four-hour convention slot.

So at Genghis Con 07 on Labor Day weekend, I ran my first PTA game. I didn't discover PTA until after the program book was out, so it was a last minute add, but luckily I got six players through word of mouth. It was an absolutely terrific event! Everyone had a blast and the three players I talked to at dinner after the con said it was the best game they played at the con.

PTA is brilliant. Thank you Matt. If you never wrote anything other than PTA you'd still be one of the greatest RPG designers/writers of all time.

Now that the setup and the gushing are out of the way, I'd like to discuss how I approached running PTA at a con and what I plan to do better/different next time. I owe a lot to J-M who ran it so well for me first and a lot of this approach was originally his.