News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

iChat Universalis

Started by Shane Boone, September 16, 2007, 03:27:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Shane Boone

I recently started playing Universalis with my wife and son and I love the game.   I am thinking of playing using iChat on a Mac, but have a couple of questions:

1.  When playing Universalis online (irc, chat session, etc.), what method should be used to handle the secret bid that occurs before each scene? 
2.  Does anyone know of a site where I could  find other players or post requests for other players for online Universalis.  I've tried Googling it, but haven't had any luck.

Thanks,
Shane

Darren Hill

I don't know about the first question, but if you do find somewhere to play online, please update us on this thread. Time permitting, I'm interested in giving it a go.

Trevis Martin

I've participated heavily in playing Uni online a few times.  Though not as much in chat as on a wiki (I think it's still in my sig.)

A place to look for other players might be to post to the indie-netgaming yahoo group and it's IRC channels which is sort of meant to be a clearinghouse for online play of indie-rpgs (IRC, PbP, PBEM, MUSH).  And I know Uni has been played there a few times.

The yahoo group is here http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/indie-netgaming

--Trevis

Mike Holmes

As for the particular problem in question... revealing simultaneously... we've done one of two things:
1) everybody writes in their bid, and then somebody reveals theirs with a "GO" and everybody sends. Last post to arrive cannot win. Or just honor system.
2) Everybody sends their bids to a third party privately. This worked well in #indierpgs, because there was always somebody hanging around to facilitate.

Mike
Member of Indie Netgaming
-Get your indie game fix online.

Mike Holmes