*
*
Home
Help
Login
Register
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
August 09, 2022, 02:15:27 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Search:     Advanced search
275647 Posts in 27717 Topics by 4285 Members Latest Member: - Jason DAngelo Most online today: 61 - most online ever: 565 (October 17, 2020, 02:08:06 PM)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: [Capes] On being overdrawn  (Read 4134 times)
Neil the Wimp
Member

Posts: 76


WWW
« on: November 04, 2007, 01:54:40 PM »

Can I just check that I understand what happens when a character is overdrawn?

If a character is overdrawn, they have to roll down dice.  Once per overdrawn drive, the character's player identifies all the conflict sides the character is allied with, and picks the largest die from that set.  He rolls that die and, if it shows a smaller value than it was, sets the die to that value; otherwise, the die is returned to its original value.

Is that correct?

If so, I have two questions. 

First, if a character has two overdrawn drives, can they roll down the same die twice?  For instance, assume the highest die on their side of a conflict they're allied to is a six.  Taking their first overdrawn drive, they reroll that die and get a five.  If that die is still the highest eligible die, is that same die rolled down again for the second overdrawn drive?

Second, take a look at t the appearance of Captain Liberty at the top of p. 58 in the examples.  Alex spends a story token and Cap appears.  At this stage, Cap hasn't rolled any dice and so isn't allied to any side of any conflict.  So why does Alex, the player, need to roll down any dice due to Cap being overdrawn?  He rolls down a die that the other character he controls is allied to.  In other words, Cap's overdraft 'leaks' across to all the characters controlled by the same player.  Is that right, or is the example on p. 58 wrong?

Should finally get to play this on Tuesday.  I'm looking forward to it!

Neil.
Logged

Milton Keynes RPG Club: http://www.mk-rpg.org.uk .  Tuesday evenings.  Come join us!
Eric Sedlacek
Member

Posts: 135

TheCzech


« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2007, 09:13:05 AM »

First, if a character has two overdrawn drives, can they roll down the same die twice?  For instance, assume the highest die on their side of a conflict they're allied to is a six.  Taking their first overdrawn drive, they reroll that die and get a five.  If that die is still the highest eligible die, is that same die rolled down again for the second overdrawn drive?

This is definitely a yes.  The same die can end up being rolled down multiple times, and this does occasionally come up.  It is also quite common for an indebted character to roll no dice down because he or she has not rolled on any of the remaining conflicts, especially in a fast-moving scene where conflicts are resolving within a page or two.

Second, take a look at t the appearance of Captain Liberty at the top of p. 58 in the examples.  Alex spends a story token and Cap appears.  At this stage, Cap hasn't rolled any dice and so isn't allied to any side of any conflict.  So why does Alex, the player, need to roll down any dice due to Cap being overdrawn?  He rolls down a die that the other character he controls is allied to.  In other words, Cap's overdraft 'leaks' across to all the characters controlled by the same player.  Is that right, or is the example on p. 58 wrong?

Hmmm.  I don't have the book in front of me, so I can't reference the example at this moment, but this does strike me as an error.  This "leaking" makes no sense especially when you consider that your two characters could easily end up on  opposite sides of a conflict.

This is a very astute observation on your part.

Should finally get to play this on Tuesday.  I'm looking forward to it!

Have fun!  And please do report back with your experiences.

One item of unsolicited advice: keep the early scenes where you are still learning the rules relatively simple.  It takes most people a little time to internalize the flow of play.
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Oxygen design by Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!