*
*
Home
Help
Login
Register
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 24, 2014, 04:01:59 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Search:     Advanced search
275647 Posts in 27717 Topics by 4283 Members Latest Member: - otto Most online today: 62 - most online ever: 429 (November 03, 2007, 04:35:43 AM)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: [SOTC] Outnumbered  (Read 2257 times)
LordEntropy
Member

Posts: 13


« on: August 22, 2008, 12:35:35 AM »

A number of the fists stunts talk about their use when being outnumbered. Now I know Mooks get a numerical advantage to attack a character but I cant see anywhere in the rules that states anyone else does.

So for example if 2 PCs attack the main villain do they automatically get any bonuses to their actions? Or would this require someone to perform an "outnumbered" manoeuvre?
Logged
iago
Moderator
Member
*
Posts: 863


WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2008, 05:38:20 AM »

Outnumbered is simply a state of fact. I'm one guy, I'm fighting two guys, I'm outnumbered. No mechanical aspect to it.
Logged

LordEntropy
Member

Posts: 13


« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2008, 06:23:10 AM »

Outnumbered is simply a state of fact. I'm one guy, I'm fighting two guys, I'm outnumbered. No mechanical aspect to it.

Fred thanks, the reason I ask is because of the wording for Army of One



And Brawler says

Whenever you are personally outnumbered in a fight (i.e., when someone gets
to attack you at a bonus due to a numerical advantage) your defense rolls with
Fists are at +1. When fighting two or more minions, you deal one additional
stress on a successful hit.


Am I being a bit dense here, and please tell me if I am but but both infer a mechanical benefit, is this just referring to the benefits a Mook gets in this case for outnumbering a PC? If so the Brawler example seems to differentiate in its wording between Mooks and other people with regards to the benefit the Stunt bestows upon its user, hence why I am getting a little confused.
Logged
iago
Moderator
Member
*
Posts: 863


WWW
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2008, 06:45:44 AM »

Minions, as described in the conflict chapter, get an advantage of numbers. No one else does.

So, say you're fighting 7 minions.  Normally they'd get to do one roll at (I forget) a +3 or +4 due to their numbers.  Or, if they were attached to a leader NPC, the leader NPC would get that bonus to his roll. 

Army of One says that bonus doesn't happen. Yes, it probably should say "from minions", but that's the intent.

Brawler is not minion specific. The parenthetical "i.e.," portion was ill-advised on our part, since it's meant to apply to a superset of situations of which minions are but one.  Two named NPCs both ganging up on you also count as outnumbering, though they don't get a bonus; their advantage is expressed by the fact that they get two rolls to attack you or otherwise fuck you up vs. your one.
Logged

LordEntropy
Member

Posts: 13


« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2008, 11:44:18 AM »

Cheers Fred I think that has cleared that up for me. Many Thanks.
Logged
oliof
Member

Posts: 449

Harald Wagener - Zurich, Switzerland


WWW
« Reply #5 on: August 24, 2008, 02:05:26 AM »

FWIW, I would also disallow such a character to be tagged via an environmental/declared/assessed aspect that is about being "outnumbered".
Logged

Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Oxygen design by Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!