News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Absolute Beginner

Started by Brother, January 04, 2009, 07:15:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Brother

Hi all

I've just read through PTA, and one of the first things that struck me was, 'I never have to buy another roleplaying game again'. No need, PTA covers everything. I can't wait to try this game out.

I do have one question/quibble though.

I admit to not having played a single episode, and I'm barely through a full read of the rules. But I am a bit dubious on the practicalities of play concerning 'Screen Presence'. I'm not sure I like the idea about giving one character the spotlight. No matter how I look at it, it makes me view all other characters (and more importanlty - all other players), as 'out of the spotlight' for that episode. It goes against some deeply ingrained philosophy I have. All players/characters should be in the spotlight at all times. Having said that, I have read numerous times over the years, how a 'DM' should make a point of making sure each player's character has some quality time to shine during an 'adventure'.

I guess my biggest problem is seeing all other characters as Screen Presence 1 and 2 and defining what the levels 1 and 2 mean in game. It comes across as very formulistic and a bit contrived, having to find the right level of expression for Screen Presences 1s and 2s. Perhaps I'll just give Presence 3 the limelight and go with the flow concerning all else. Hope this made sense.

Has anyone else found this one an obstacle?

Congrats on a superb little game.

Brother

Also, I notice on page 43, under the sub heading 'Narration', John the producer for the rescue 2313 series, has just narrated how Brea, a character played  by Meredith, out wits his nemesis. Shouldn't Meredith, the player of Brea, be the one narrating things?

Or have I got things wrong...

Matt Wilson

Hi, um, "Brother."