News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

[The New World] Diceless

Started by JohnG, January 26, 2009, 09:13:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

JohnG

So I'm publishing an rpg via blog just for the fun of it on my www.headtripgames.com site.  The idea is what if these fantasy races discovered a new continent like the europeans discovered america and humans and orcs are the natives that they're running into.  Right now I'm putting up setting stuff on the blog, but I'd like some opinions on the diceless system I'm toying with for it because I've never done anything with diceless before so here it is.  Honestly I don't know what to ask so tell me what's wrong with it and what's not wrong with it heh.

Attributes 1-10

Toughness
Agility
Intelligence
Perception
Charm
Manipulation

Skills 1-5

Attribute gives you pool for actions, skill gives you maximum bid.  Failure means losing 1 pool success means keeping whatever you bid, bidding less than max and succeeding refills pool by an amount equal to max bid minus actual bid.  Players can bid above their skill rank by burning pool, burnt pool is removed from the attribute pool regardless of whether the character succeeds or fails, though failure does still burn an additional pool, and usually can not be restored until the character rests.

Bids are compared to a secret difficulty or to an opponent's secret bid.  Bidding equal to or greater than difficulty means success, contested bidding determines winner by highest bid.  In case of a tie compare max bid, whoever has the most unused max bid is winner, if this is a tie the participant with the highest skill rating wins, if this is still a tie the character with the highest attribute wins.  If this is still a tie characters bid again but do not have access to any pool that has been bid in the previous tied contest.