News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Blushu in the Capeyard

Started by Kalandri, March 29, 2009, 12:02:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kalandri

Here's the playable version of a game I've been working on off and on for three years; even though I've never joined The Forge I sure have learned a lot from lurking here.
In any case, the name of this game (and the name of the thread) as it stands is based on the quartet of amazing games this one is derived from:

Blur
Wushu
Capes
Dogs in the Vineyard

My goal was to create a game that used playing cards well, like Blur, was fast as Wushu (and takes its veto mechanic), had "powers" that incur a sort of debt, like Capes, and inspired a certain sense of "you never get hurt or die unless it's something worth getting hurt or dying about," a la Dogs.

In any case, I would very much like feedback. What do you like and why? What don't you like and why? What could be improved? What doesn't make sense? What problems seem self-evident? I'll take anything.

The Basics

This game uses a standard deck of playing cards (with two jokers) and some form of tokens in two colors (checkers pieces do nicely). As for the playing cards, I tend to employ four-color decks for faster recognition.

All participants are called players. One player is designated the Game Master (GM) and the others are designated Character Players (CPs).
CPs each pick or create a character that they control, much as you'd control another person in a video game. You may describe the things they think, say, and do with little hindrance. The character of a CP is called a Player Character (PC).