News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

What about artifacts?

Started by zediekiel, May 02, 2009, 06:46:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

zediekiel

HI, I'm new here at the forge and am just getting into sorcerer.  II would like everyone to keep in mind that I am a complete and total noob with experience pertaining only to thesorcerer apprentice version and no other sources whatsoever.  Furthermore, I am new to the better part of the rpg world altogether so I have a not so pertinent question for a campaign I was thinking of starting.

I know that th basi premise behind Sorcerer is that the charadcters are ordinary humans and all powers they use stem from the demons that they summon and bind.  However, I was wondering if magical artifacts or tools might be used as well. 

They wouldn't realy be magic of course, just that they would have special properties atteted to them like a pair of spectcles that give you or your demon +1 will (I know this sounds kind of DnDish but wellll..)

The basic premise behind these iteams would be that they had demons bound into them instead of into a person, sometimes activating said object releases the demon inside (ex. genie in a lamp)

I got the idea of powerful objects with demons inside from Johnathan Sttroud and the Bartimaeus books.  Is that copyright infringiment or non-essential advertising here?

Regardless, I look forward to hearing comments back on this.

Best, Zediekiel

jburneko

Zediekiel,

Hello.

Ron's made it pretty clear that the apprentice version of sorcerer is available as a historical curiosity ONLY.  It doesn't really reflect the game in its current state at all.  That said here are a few ways you can do "artifacts."