News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

GNS and its origins from the Threefold Model

Started by MK Snyder, November 03, 2002, 08:04:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MK Snyder

As a newbie, I found this discussion of The Threefold Theory very useful, especially with regard tot he symmetry problem.

Am I correct in assuming that the GNS model derives from these discussions?

M. J. Young

Quote from: MK Snyder
Am I correct in assuming that the GNS model derives from these discussions?
In a word, no; or at least, not quite.

There's a lot of history behind the model. It draws on discussions on Usenet, the work of Woo and others, and found an expression in an article by Ron Edwards originally posted on Gaming Outpost (it is no longer there, apparently lost in a database error, but is I believe preserved here--although at this moment I can't remember its title). There were extensive discussions there. It was then brought here, where discussion continued, and I believe the commonly cited article (the more comprehensive one to which people are usually referred) was written, again by Mr. Edwards.

--M. J. Young

MK Snyder

OK, let me try this question again:

Who came up with the "threefold model" first?

Valamir

The two models are seperate.  The threefold model on use.net came first.  Ron was aware of and influenced by those discussions, but GNS is not an evolution of or a refutation of the threefold.  They are 2 seperate models.

They resemble each other superficially in much of the terminology that is used but as they were designed with very different goals in mind underneath they are quite different.

It would be a mistake to attempt to use the logic and arguements of one to discuss the other.  While the two models are not completely mutually exclusive they both start from very different premii.  Familiarity with both is to be encouraged but you'll confuse yourself greatly if you attempt to merge the two together.