News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Please help a student

Started by Johannes, January 02, 2003, 12:43:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Johannes

Hello everyone,

I'm a long term active role-player who is starting to work on a masters thesis about the narratology and fiction of table-top RPGs. I'm a Comparative literature major and my aim is to use (and modify) the theoretical framework of literature criticism on RPGs. I'm thinking of something on the lines of Ryan, Genette, Fludernik and Bakhtin but the research question is still very vague at best so I cannot give you more details on it. I'm studying in the University of Helsinki, Finland.

I must admit that my knowledge of the theory of RPGs is much thinner than my knowledge of criticism: I have just recently found the Forge and read the Articles section and I have just started to read the numerous interesting discussions. I also know that rpg.net has information that could be useful.

Since I am in this sense a newbie I must ask you to recommend theoretical sources to me. At this point I'm interested in almost everything: books, articles, web sites, discussions...you name it! All help and advice is welcome and gratefully recieved.

Thanks in advance,
Johannes Kellomaki

simon_hibbs

Johannes,

Welcome to The Forge, I hope you find it a usefull source of ideas, conjecture and entertainment.

Perhaps the best source of accademic analyses of roleplaying is now unfortunately out of print. Interactive Fantasy magazine was a paperback-sized publication edited by Andrew Rilstone, and published by James Wallis. It's contributors included many well-known figures in the games industry. It's possible some issues may still be available.

http://www.hogshead.demon.co.uk/InteractiveFantasy.htm

Simon Hibbs
[/url]
Simon Hibbs

Alan

Hi Johannes,

The Forge, with its various discussions and Ron's essays, is the best source I've ever found for RPG theory.