News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

My game: Invasion (working title): Dice Mechanics (long)

Started by Brian Leybourne, January 08, 2003, 11:20:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Brian Leybourne

Hi all.

I could do with some help regarding a game I've been working on, on and off for several years now, but have recently been encouraged to get back into it. Very much an indie game.

Initially, I want to talk die mechanics. The setting etc needs to be discussed too, of course, but I want to get the (at least basic) mechanics in my head first, and the ones I have used for this game in the past cannot be kept, so I'm kind of starting from scratch.

I've been toying around with two systems. One can be found here, and is interesting, but a bit clunky. I've also been considering a second system and am very interested in feedback.

It's kind of similar to a system that Szilard proposed many months back (which I can't find right now), but independantly developed. Below are my notes on the system, I would be very interested in thoughts.

Characters roll 2d6, and check the result on the following table:

2-3 (or just 2) – Catastrophic failure
4-6 (or 3-6) – Failure
7 – Bare minimum success, possibly requires expenditure of fate point or whatever for success
8-10 (or 8-11) – Success
11-12 (or just 12) – Illustrious success