News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Narrativist Games with Actor Stance?

Started by Michael S. Miller, February 07, 2003, 12:42:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Michael S. Miller

I ran Trollbabe for my wife, Kat, and a friend of ours, Michele, this week. They both kinda enjoyed it, but pointed out that the rules "enforce a separation between me and my character." I explained that this was a design feature, called Author Stance, and that the game was written intentionally to promote it. My wife's response: "I'm a writer. If I want to write, I'll write. When I role-play I want to be somebody else." Michele agreed.

Although they're both willing to continue with Trollbabe, I'm thinking that if they prefer Actor Stance, I should look for games that emphasize it. Most of the newer games that I like have lots of Actor/Director Stance. I think I should check out TROS, Orkworld & Puppetland, but does anyone else have suggestions of Narrativist games (my preferred mode) with strong Actor Stance?

Assuming, of course, that I'm not tripping over the Impossible Thing ...  8-)
Serial Homicide Unit Hunt down a killer!
Incarnadine Press--The Redder, the Better!

Paganini

Donjon works as a "mainly actor stance, with sime director stance" style game. It seems to me though that you're gonna have a hard time having a real narrativist game with people who are into actor stance. If your players prioritize "being another person," then you're looking at simulationism.

Ron Edwards

Hi there,

Donjon is not a Narrativist-facilitating game, I think. It's overtly Gamist and features much direct "gotcha" competition between the GM and players. Don't mistake "narration" for Narravism.

Actor stance is a fine thing for Narrativism. I'm pretty sure it can't be the only thing, but then again, I don't think any given session of play is characterized by a single, exclusive stance under any circumstances.