News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Dice pools!

Started by Comte, June 30, 2003, 11:44:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Comte

I like dice pools, and I like lots of different types of dice. I don't know what it is I just do. So when I set out to kick out the mechanics of my game a dice pool just seemed to fall into place.

Now as a human being I have weaknesses, mechanics are one of them. I'm not good at remembering them and I doubt I'm good at writing them, still that's no reason for me not to try. So following is my first attempt at game mechanics. Please tell me what's wrong with them.

Where the dice come from:
For all you skills you get a skill bonus, and for all your stats you get a stat bonus. The skill bonus is the amount of points you have in the skill divided by 2. The stat bonus is the stat divided by 3.

Why?: Well the reasoning behind this is that the skills range in numbers from 1-15. In some situations that could lead to a lot of dice flying around. Also the stats can range from 1-30. Normal humans won't ever have a stat beyond 15, the rest is for things that they will only deal with if they screw up. So I figured by breaking it down in this way I could keep the flexibility of the dice pool mechanic while keeping the number of dice under control. There will be rules in place for passive skill use so that players won't feel that they are wasting points hopefully.

What Type of Dice: For skill bonuses 1d10 for stat bonuses 1d20.

Why: Well I decided that your skills should be the main thing that gets you by. It is going to be a very skill based game as one of its major themes is traveling the road from innocents to experience, from book knowledge to real knowledge. Raw natural talent should play a part, just one that is roughly half as effective. Also something with massive stats may not be as effective as someone who is highly skilled. That is an important bit.