News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Started reading Hero Wars and.......

Started by pacific_steve, October 03, 2001, 10:16:00 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

pacific_steve

Ok, I've finally started to read Hero Wars.  It's badly organised, that much is obvious. They need to do a serious rework of this. If I was a complete newbie, I'd be confused about character creation for a start.  But this thread aint for bashing...what I want to discuss is the use of Hero Points to advance plotline.
Like many gamers, I was raised on a steady diet of G and S type games where players had a fair degree of control over character action limited largely by dice rolling. It seems that Hero Wars (so far in my reading anyway) highlights the spending of HP to advance the plotlin and influence wht happens to the characters in the story. Now, I can certainly see the novel use of this, but spending HP to 'cement' acquired wealth (just because most Gloranthan transactions are bartered) or to keep the magic runesword your beloved character just picked up. This seems ludicrous. In essence it takes power away from the player to control the actions of their character. So one scenario might go:
GM: "Oh yeah and remember that wondrous goblet of Magasta you picked up last session?"
Player: "Umm..yeah"
GM: "Cuz you didn't spend a HP to cement it, your tribe decides to keep it"

I don't know if this is common to narrative gaming, but that just seems slightly silly to me. What that section of the rule book does is to place more importane on currency called Hero Points than any actual player statement. Instead of spending a HP why doesn't the player just simply write this newfound treasure on her sheet  as a possession and go from there?