News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Some magic questions, among others

Started by kalyptein, September 03, 2003, 02:49:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kalyptein

Got my HQ book last week and I've been pouring over it for a while.  I'm totally new to the system (and the world), so I'm hoping some of you old skool types can help me out with a few questions.

1) Abilities seem very narrow, which seems like it would pigeon-hole characters into limited roles, something I'd expect more from DnD than what I had read about HQ.  If I want to play a weapon master, do I have to take abilities in every single combination of weapons?  Am I doomed to "Close Combat" with improv penalties on every roll?  A "weapon master" keyword might do the trick, but it can't be improved.

This extends to other areas besides combat.  From the examples of play I remember "Bring in Harvest", "Jump Up Cliff", and "Play Harp".  Why not "Farming", "Superlative Leap", and "Musician"?  If I want to encourage my players to branch out and take fun abilities that round them out and give them character, I wouldn't want them to have to sink the majority of their points into it just to be competent.  I have this vision of character creation, "oh, you wanted to *plant* crops too?  sorry, you'll also need Sow Crops, and then you'll take an improv penalty since you didn't specify what *type* of crop you can plant.  You'll also need Sharpen Plow, Care For Mule, Hitch Mule to Plow..."  At which point the player gives up in disgust and dumps all his points into Hit Things and Avoid Getting Hurt.

I'd assume I was blowing this out of proportion, except this concern was brought on by reading the examples of play.  How's this work out in actual play?

On to magic...