News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Kyuseisha: Back to Formula (failures, reworking)

Started by Andy Kitkowski, November 07, 2003, 07:02:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Andy Kitkowski

OK, so this is kinda against the "post when you need feedback" thing of this forum, but I figure there's a few morals of game design in this post.  Actually, it's clear as day:

playtest, Playtest, PLAYTEST.  No matter how cool you think a mechanic might be or how people will use it or react to it, you won't know for sure without playtesting it.  3 hours of loose playtesting is worth 10 hours of "thinking about the system".

Anyway, I've been playtesting for the past 3 months or so, with a few gaps here and there for holidays, being sick, etc.  As I've been playtesting, I've been "calculating" in the back of my head the changes that need to be made, the broken parts that need to be fixed, etc. I've been working on those bits in the background, hoping to come out with a "Kyuseisha 1.2" rules set to introduce to the players all at once (instead of adding a new rule here, there, etc).

Also, the other thing I've been doing is going "slow" with the adventures.  Making them mostly social-encounter based, with as little (mostly none) combat as possible.  Last night, I ran some combats, and noticed a lot of failures with the system there. Namely, rolling for one action takes a little more time than in many other RPGs: It takes a few more seconds to figure out what you rolled, etc.  Normally, this is all cool and all when you're making stealth rolls, charm rolls, etc, but when you're making several rolls in a short period of time (ala combat), things started to fall apart.

Anyway, just to air my dirty underwear, here's some design goals, failures, changes, and other notes:

ORIGINAL DESIGN GOAL: Attributes and "Roles", no skills.